BoyWithUke - Migraine

Today's post is brought to you by Immitrex.

I don’t mean to be too on-the-nose with today’s pick, but… I’ve literally had a migraine for the past 24 hours. It wasn’t sooper bad, and I don’t want to turn this newsletter into some kind of confessional (guys, can I just be real with you for a moment…). But the headache was bad enough that it made BoyWithUke’s “Migraine” a pretty easy pick. Sure, why not, I can suggest a song about the sensation I’m feeling right now above my left eyeball. Whether or not BoyWithUke is actually seeing auras or wrapping his head in therma-ice, I’m not sure. But the song is as catchy as a migraine is annoying.

While I’ve enjoyed this song, and others, by BoyWithUke, I didn’t Google him until just now. Evidently his real name is Charley Yang and he became famous via TikTok, which tracks if you listen to the song. Also, according to Google, People Also Ask:
“Is BoyWithUke in a relationship?”
“Why did BoyWithUke take off his mask?”
“What style of music does BoyWithUke make?”

I can only answer that last one — he makes bright, ukelele-based pop songs. This feels like a cheap shot (I don’t think it is), but his songs are a little like if you played Jack Johnson songs on 2x speed. He’s clever with the wordplay and puts together a mean melody. BoyWithUke is, evidently, also a cure for migraines. Mine’s pretty much gone, though I also took some Sumatriptan. Maybe he can write a song about that.

Follow the entire 3-6-5 Playlist

Like 3-6-5? Forward it to a friend.
Or an enemy you want to turn into a friend.

Reply

or to participate.