flowerovlove - a girl like me

London calling.

The obvious, though altogether incorrect analog for this song is the famous Julia Roberts “I’m just a girl standing in front of a boy” quote from Notting Hill. But only because flowerovlove literally sings “Would a boy like you like a girl like me?” and she hails from London. After that all comparisons stop. Partly because flowerovlove is just nineteen years old and Roberts was 31 when she made Notting Hill. And partly because “a girl like me” is awesome while Notting Hill kinda sucks. This is not up for debate.

You are hard-pressed to find a song as sweet and earnest as “girl like me.” A young girl, having gone on a first date, wonders where she stands with said boy. I’ve never been a teenage girl, but the sentiment is pretty universal for those remembering the profoundness of love at that age. There’s doubt, pride, and a wee bit of distance to keep yourself safe. It’s not “do you like me?”, it’s “would a boy like you like a girl like me?” It’s once removed to remove some of the pain.

But I’m getting carried away here and over examining it. This song is a genuine pop gem. Honestly, flowerovlove is so good at crafting clever, intricate and catchy AF pop songs that it was hard to pick one. But this is a good place to start, then move on to “BOYS” (noticing a theme here…) and then “Next Best Exit,” and then “Hannah Montana.” And then, I guess, you could fire up Notting Hill. Just kidding.

Follow the entire 3-6-5 Playlist

Like 3-6-5? Forward it to a friend. Or an enemy you want to turn into a friend.

Reply

or to participate.