RealJakeBeal - Spokane's Not Dumb

Your own private Idaho

I’m only eight days into this site and making recommendations, so it might be too soon to introduce a novelty song, I get that. This won’t become a habit, recommending some quirky Instagram reel forwarded to me by a friend. But credit where credit is due and respect when respect is due. “Spokane’s not dumb” is a catchy song, the “comedy” notwithstanding. Even if you don’t live in the Pacific Northwest as I do, you can get the whole city mouse/country mouse regional humor. But mostly, just appreciate the gentle beat and @RealJakeBeal’s truly smooth, if sometimes uneven, vocals.

There is a risk to recommending a track by some quasi-viral IG creator. I don’t know anything about this guy, his politics, or any poor life decisions he may or may not have made. I don’t know if he was chasing viral fame, trying to boost a fledgling comedy career, or just really digs living in Spokane. I don’t want to know, I just want to enjoy this gem of a song. There is a short clip version embedded above and a full version embedded below. I recommend the clip as the full song feels mostly like filler and there are diminishing returns on the joke.

But let’s also appreciate the blunt title, “Spokane’s not dumb.” As a writer I can appreciate that it tells you everything you need to know about the song before you press play. Maybe the Spokane Chamber of Commerce or Tourism or whatever will use it to grasp at their own shot at viral fame and must-have T-shirts. If so, good for @RealJakeBeal (again, assuming he’s not some kind of monster). I haven’t been to Spokane, and this song isn’t going to entice me into visiting, or recommending more novelty songs. Unless, of course, doing so works (I’m not dumb).

(Sorry! No Spotify or Apple links available)