Smallpools - Million Bucks

Zero.

Where are we at on songs with the “E” for explicit rating? I go back and forth on this. I want to introduce you to, or re-acquaint you with, awesome songs and just maybe, brighten your day a bit. Should I care whether you can play them in the car with kids/parents/southern belles who might get “the vapors” upon hearing harsh language Here’s one way to find out. Check out Smallpools’ “Million Bucks.”

I saw Smallpools play a small company holiday party back in like 2013, and I was instantly taken by their bright, hooky, synth-pop. They never got as big as I imagined they would, but they never stopped writing songs that are, fittingly, catchy AF. Fittingly, “Million Bucks” contains many F-bombs. But those bombs are all drenched in this syrupy sweet love song. I mean, the lyric in question is “I’ve got all my money on you, and though my dollars are few, I feel like a million bucks and I give no f-cks, when I’m with you.” Is that so bad?

When he was younger, like eight years old, my son loved this song, most likely because of the f-cks given throughout. I didn’t mind, because… I didn’t… whatever, judge my parenting all you want. The point is, I’m trying to keep 3-6-5 a positive place and leave the cynicism to others. But there might be times when we work a little blue. I hope you’ll still stick around for the journey. Because I want you to know that I do give a f-ck.

Follow the entire 3-6-5 Playlist

Like 3-6-5? Forward it to a friend.
Or an enemy you want to turn into a friend.

Reply

or to participate.