Welcome to 3-6-5! Start Here.

A quick explainer.

The 3-6-5 premise is pretty straightforward. Song recommendations delivered in:

3 paragraphs, 6 sentences each, 5 days a week.

That’s it. A song a (week)day for a year.

Boom. Easy.

Listen. There is no shortage of middle aged white dudes quick to offer a music recommendation. I’m not a musician. I don’t work for KEXP. Record store clerks would sneer at my picks.

I’m just a guy whose wife has insisted he find a hobby. I love music. I like writing having written. So here we are.

Why should you subscribe to this 3-6-5?

Well...

  1. It’s free. That’s pretty good.

  2. It’s brief (See the 3-6-5 thing)

  3. I’m not looking to impress you with my crate digging skillz or present the obscurest of the obscure. The songs picked are just slightly outside the center. You’ll know a lot of the bands. Most of them are semi- to actually quite popular.

I should note. Songs will be all over the map (different genres, decades, etc.), so one pick is not indicative of what will follow. So if you dislike one day’s, wait 24 hours and a new one will appear.

Also of note. I’m old, dude, if that matters.

Tell you what. Just poke around and see what you think. You don’t even have to subscribe. Just pop in every now and then when you remember it.

Or don’t.

Look. Life is short and stressful. If 3-6-5 can help you find a new track to listen to that brightens your day a little — fantastic. If you don’t like what you find here, you can skip to the next track. That’s okay too.